I need to run.
I think I have a tendency to focus too much on where I'm going and what I'm doing next when running Charlie, especially at trials, and because I'm worrying about that I don't keep up- which is where things go pear shaped.
Goal for triple jumpers, then, is to run run run. I need to be absolutely dead after the five runs and just want to call into a ball and sleep, that's the sort of running I need to be doing. To be honest I don't even care about staying on course- if we DQ from a wrong course because I forget where we're going, then so be it. So long as we're running, it'll be brilliant.
I've been absolutely lucky to get a naturally manically fast dog, so I owe it to him to actually be capable of running him properly.
Something's definitely been missing from my partnership with Charlie the past few months, but I'm getting the feeling it's coming back. Slowly, but it's definitely coming together.
When we finally do get that real click, nothing's going to stop us :) It's just a matter of patiently waiting and working for the final pieces to fit together.
I've got a good feeling about Saturday. We'll be back to being the United Nations with a big group of us and our assortment of dogs; there are a few debuts (two dogs and a handler- who's also running one of the dogs) and I can't wait. Should be a really awesome day.
No comments:
Post a Comment