That I need to handle my dog more when we're trialling.
Rewatching some trial videos before- particularly the one from yesterday- made me have a bit of a brainwave. When we're running long, moving stretches of course I kind of forget to handle and just focus on running and not falling over anything and remembering where we're going. And that's usually when Charlie loses the plot a bit.
When we do the more stagnant, tight bits of a course and I can more or less stand there and focus on where I'm meant to be pointing him to go, we actually look quite in sync.
And I've also noticed we sort of don't have it together at the very beginning of runs- which I'm certain has a lot to do with the fact that my bloody dog doesn't have a consistent way that he will start a run. For instance yesterday, I'd given up hope of a lead out but our third JDX run (and last run of the day, go figure) he had a rock solid wait. It surprised me and I didn't want to push it so released him earlier than I would have, and got nearly taken out because he zoomed for the tunnel for my trouble.
The thing is in training while we have a big space, it's small compared to most trial rings- ergo, we can't practice the big, sweeping sections I'm having issues remembering to handle- and comparitively he's so bloody easy to run...
I definitely need to keep videotaping my runs and looking back at them, because it's helping me to get a better picture of what I need to do to help us have a bit more success.
And Noonbarra note: still no reply re the puppy. I sent a quick email this afternoon and hopefully will hear back soon. Everyone keeps telling me, "Just ring, you won't be annoying, you're a customer" but I feel a bit awkward doing that and kind of pushy, so I'm hoping to get a call or email tomorrow at some stage.
No comments:
Post a Comment