I don't know what's happened to Charlie- and frankly I don't care, because whatever it is has made him just explode with awesomeness.
We were at Commando this morning and little special boy was doing auto 2o2o on the rock contact points for the walk on obstacles ♥ I think something's just started clicking with us both and it's amazing the progress we've made as a team in just the last few days.
I think it's also been helping that I'm finally really back to being bubbly and happy again after everything that happened with Fletch (and the maybe new doggy has certainly boosted my mood ten times over), and I am so, so, so glad we dropped obedience for the foreseeable future because we have more time, we're less stressed, and Charlie's happier for it at the moment.
The level we were at was just way too intense for us currently, and to be perfectly honest I have things I consider more important to focus on than the stuff we needed to work on every week for that class. And because we were having so many drive issues with a lot of the exercises, it was hard for both of us to get enthused about training- either in the class or at home.
By the end of the year I'd like to try and be easing back into classes again, but just as a fun thing and we'd more or less just be joining in now and then with the exercises and not taking it very seriously. Next year we'll get back into it as an actual class and see how that works out. I'm not planning on doing competive obedience with Mr Moose anytime soon, and he has more than enough training to get by, so it's not something I've got as high on the priority list and I think a very long break will do us wonders.
He's only three and a half- we've got plenty of time for everything. No need to rush into it all again.
No comments:
Post a Comment