We finally got to go to a Commando class this morning and had a blast. Charlie can more or less do all of the equipment- amazing what he remembered from the old equipment he went on over three years ago- and it's a matter of refining it.
I thought he was being very well behaved and very controlled. And he was.
Until, last thing, we ran a "course". It was this little suspended table bridge thing, front cross onto the big suspended bridge, then up and over the tyre walk on and then down up and down through the pipe tunnels. He lost the plot and went a bit bananas. Such a moose.
Our instructor was like, "Ah... I see what you mean" because I'd told her about him "knowing" what to do, but when it comes to running it in sequence he gets overexcited and stressy and loses his head. So at least now she's seen it in action and understands I'm not just being super picky with it.
I also told her we're taking a break from obedience and she agreed with my reasoning and didn't have an issue with it. We're still doing composite classes- I may start going Saturday mornings as well as Tuesday nights now it's getting cooler so we can keep working on Charlie's "shall not work in daylight" issues. And since we're only down there twice a week without obedience it shouldn't be an issue. Our instructor also said we should feel more than free to just pop in and join the obedience classes whenever we want and just have fun with it and go from there. I think after we've had a little break I'll ease back into it by doing that- just going down for a little amount of time and doing a bit of play, a bit of work, then taking him home again.
And also, last bit of news is I finally have a fake dog walk! :D Exciting indeed. Charlie's had a full on morning, what with class, then a trip to the shops and work to pick up some stuff, then wrestling with Jack, then a bath, then wrestling with Jack, then an excursion in the car to collect some termites for the baby lizards, then wrestling with Jack. Labour Day's tomorrow so no school- yay! -so I'll spread a few sessions across the day and get him used to working on it. He was a bit unsure when I put him over it before to check the traction, but with a bit of practice he'll be fine. We're going to work on some more 2o2o and hopefully get it nice and solid. The only issue I'm having is the fact that I don't currently have much way to bridge it into trials because he's just off his face and I can't go back and re-do it. Gah.
I need to get my arse into gear and attend a few ADAA ones and see how that goes.
No comments:
Post a Comment