Friday, April 15, 2011

Just... Stuff

Prepare for a ramble.

You've been warned.

So I've been switched to working Friday afternoons instead of Thursday afternoons- which is fine, but Charlie had a return visit to the chiropractor this afternoon to go to. I had to go to work. So mum took him.

Well... She tried to take him. I got the wrong road name for the address and an hour and a half later- long past the appointment time- mum arrived home with an un-chiropracted Charlie. Now I have to try and get a hold of the chiropractor to apologise for the no show and try to fit Charlie in for another check up and retweak- not on a Friday so I can go along.

Apart from that, the first day of the Easter school holidays was pretty dull. Spent nearly the whole morning before I went in to work having my hair re-done by mum and Charlie lazed about. One of my aunties, her husband and their three kids are up for a visit for the next week, but that's about it.

These holidays I want to take the dogs to the Spit a few times at the very least, and get in some park excursions.

With everything that happened over the past month or so with Fletcher, I've been so slack with training the dogs. We've done literally nothing apart from once a week at agility, once a week at demo class, once a week at obedience- and the latter two we've only just gone back to after a two/three week absence. It doesn't seem like nothing, but the fact is we're learning new stuff in every class every week, and we should ought to be working on that new stuff at home.

But we haven't. Woops.

I need a training plan.

So I've decided to draft one up tomorrow. It'll encompass agility, demo class and obedience as well as other silly bits and pieces so my dog doesn't have a mental breakdown. We need to go back and revisit contacts (for the fiftieth time... life would be so much simplier if I could just stick with jumpers) some distance work and control and absolutely everything. And we're also adding things in for obedience and demo- we need lots of work on heelwork mainly, and to get over the "WET GRASS!!!!" meltdown issues Charlie has. Especially since we're heading into winter and the grass is always wet. Eh.

I need to actually finish off the crappy jumps, and get some weave poles happening. And some contact equipment. And I need some space, and flat land.

And I'm broke, so I need money. Why does everything cost so much? Come August I should have an extra $750 popping into my bank account from my dad's parents who have had extra bank accounts set up for each of us grandkids since we were little, accumulating a bit of money that they'll send our way when we each turn eighteen. As the oldest of their "grandies", I get the first honour- and it couldn't be coming at a better time, right when I'll be needing a big bulk sum of cash if the litter I'm hoping to get a pup from eventuates. And I'm meant to be getting some more shifts at work, and some Sunday work, which'll help.

We've got a trial on May 21st at Logan: excellent jumpers, open jumpers and novice snooker. Second snooker run; hopefully it'll go better than our first. We're also planning on participating in the RSPCA Million Paws Walk on May 15th with some agility buddies. I went year before last for the first time with our training club and had a blast; I skipped last year because we had a trial on the day before that went late and Charlie and I were both still dead to the world as the walk was starting. But my trial supervisor is at a show on the 14th this year, so we won't be at Jimboomba then and thus the walk is a go!

I think I've rambled enough, and skipped about all over the place enough for one evening. I've had no success finding an easy to use, free to download, compatible with Vista video editing software other than the free MovieMaker that came with my laptop. I want to try something different, and need something that can handle a bit more heavy-on-the-text than MovieMaker, but no luck so far. And it's really annoying, too, because I have an idea and I want to give it a bash- but I can't until I track down the right software.

Grr.

1 comment: