Sunday, August 7, 2011

Jimboomba 6th August/Logan 7th August

First time we've ever done two comps across two consecutive days, even though we only had four runs in total which is what we'd usually do at one comp.

It was stinking hot today once the sun came up, but if there's one time Charlie doesn't let the heat bother him, it's when he's running at a trial.

He was bar knocking again both yesterday and today; he's definitely out and I need to give his chiropractor a call tomorrow and make an appointment. I'll take Zeke along as well because it's super duper important he's always in place as he's growing so he forms properly, and he's such a nutcase he's got an even higher chance than Charlie of being out on a regular basis.

But anyway.

The run down.

Jimboomba, 6th August:

Our first run, JDO, was a tricky course, with a huge exclusion zone and quite a few traps. Everyone was walking it with D: expression on their faces, and there weren't many Qs- we were listening for huge cheers as an indicator, because anyone who qualified that run certainly deserved it. Once you were running it, though, it was an awesome course and it flowed really well. Charlie was a super kelpie: he absolutely nailed it all. Lead out (with a tunnel as the first obstacle, too, which surprised me), weave entry and didn't pop, got the distance without even trying, but he knocked a bar in it and we NQ'ed.

Then we had a bit of waiting to do, so I fiddled with my camera, watched some of my friends' runs, and then we had our JDX run. Naughty Charlie. We haven't been running straight after Ranger (crazy arse vizsla owned by a friend of mine) at the past few trials- but this time we were, and if there's one dog that Charlie can't watch run a course without getting worked up it's Ranger. So I didn't get a lead out, which made me in the totally wrong spot for obstacle two and then getting to three, so Charlie took an extra jump and tunnel. Rest of the run wasn't that bad, but the start was bloody awful.

Logan, 7th August:

JDX, our first run, wasn't that fab. No start line stay (which made me nearly cry because I was so sure I must have totally destroyed any chance I had of getting one ever again and I was out of options), a run past the third jump for a refusal, a bar, and then I couldn't get to where I wanted to in order to front cross in time, and he went into the tunnel. I got him out before he'd finished it, but it was too late and we DQ'ed for wrong course. Ah, well.

Second and last run of the day and weekend was JDO. He stayed! That alone made me happy. I think I was a bit too far in for the angle and he blind crossed me after the second jump, but he went into the tunnel anyway; sometimes it's good to have a tunnel suck dog. Did the distance, but knocked another bar, then another bar went down just after he came out of the tunnel for the second time. Missed his weave entry and popped at ten poles; with the new rules in place, if your dog misses some poles and you continue it's merely an NQ, but if you go back to fix them you DQ whereas it used to be the other way around. I wasn't going to let him continue for popping so went back to make him do the last couple he missed and so we got DQ'ed. The last stretch home was a bit messy, but we had good bits in there.

I only got video from Logan since dad (and his phone) gave me a lift up there, so voila! :)


No comments:

Post a Comment