...that I really, really, really don't have another Charlie.
Today, two things happened.
It rained constantly. Zeke was a total little arse about being in his crate.
He. Barked. Constantly.
I did his usual playing and training and potty sessions, split up by time in his crate which I've been doing for the past few weeks. He's not the sort of puppy you can just have out if you're not doing something with him directly because he will eat you and all of the things you love. And potatoes. He'll steal all of your potatoes and toss them about the place before hiding them somewhere for you to find at a later date.
I thought I'd cracked the being in the crate means simmer the fuck down and relax last week. But no. Today he was barking and barking and barking without a break in between.
And it didn't occur to me until a half hour ago that the only thing different about today is the weather- and what that weather meant for Zeke's several romps down the river. For the past week or so, ever since he decided that sleep during the day was for wussy babies and he isn't a wussy baby anymore, he's been going down the river anywhere from three to six times a day for a fifteen to forty five minute run about.
And it's a run about. He doesn't stop moving for one single second.
But today, because we would have drowned if we'd gone outside, I skipped that in favour of some more intense play sessions inside.
Obviously this displeases His Highness, and obviously he's not one to break the stereotype of kelpies needing a seventy kilometre run every day, and obviously I've got a dog that is going to need his couple of hours of exercise every single day, without fail, or I'm going to have hell to pay.
Charlie spent the whole day asleep because it was raining and that's what he's more than happy to do in the wet weather.
Zeke spent the whole day punishing my eardrums because it was raining and I neglected to rug up, suit up and brave the gale force winds and downpour to take him for a run.
I'm just bloody glad I didn't get Zeke when I got Fletcher because that was solid rain for a couple of months and I think we'd have all gone insane.
I hope the weather clears up tomorrow, or at the very least clear enough that I don't have to wade to get out the front door so Mr Monkey can have his sprint around and I can have some peace.
No comments:
Post a Comment