For forever.
It's all very exciting and scary at the same time; I think it feels like a bigger deal than if I'd graduated when I was meant to at the end of last year because not only am I not going to be a student anymore, but I'm not going to be a student anymore as well as being a legal adult.
It feel a bit more... real, I guess, finishing up when I'm already eighteen.
This up and coming change in my life has also started to kick me into gear in terms of what I'm planning on doing with my life. Not necessarily "the rest of my life", 'cause I'm not big on the massive amounts of forward planning, but at least for the next few years while I see where I'm headed and where I want to be headed.
I've been jobless since getting laid off around the middle of this year (suspiciously right around my eighteenth birthday... hmm) and have been getting by on birthday money and some of my savings, but with some stupid spending on my part plus having to get a new computer and bed I'm now in about a grand of debt to my parents (again, just after clearing the last bit; urgh). Although I've got eight hundred or so in the bank, I'm not wanting to siphon that out if I can help it and would prefer to pay them back in instalments instead.
The issue is I don't have any income.
I'm thankful for the decision to not get Z desexed until he's coming up to eighteen months old because otherwise I'd have to be forking that out in the next few weeks as well.
Charlie's vaccination and heart worm is coming up in a couple of months and that's always an expensive trip to the vet; Zeke and Charlie both need to go and see the chiro; I'm hoping to be able to go for my P plates at the end of this year...
I've been reluctant to get a job I merely tolerate as oppose to really enjoy because to me that's just not the point, but since I'm starting to get an idea of the sort of area I'd like to get into and to get there I need a lot more money than I have currently, I'm thinking of doing a bit of a stint behind a check out somewhere or something of the like for a while- and probably just part time or casual since I'd end up going crazy if it was a full time job.
So my plan is to try and find a little job that will, at least, give me some cash coming into my poor bank account again as well as allow me to put "experience dealing with customers" to fund a part time business that will either stay a part time business or, depending on whether I branch out and expand it and it does well, become my full time job.
And what is this proposed business?
A combination of dog walking, in owner-house pet sitting and basic (I emphasise the basic here) dog training and behaviour modification- the kind where all the owner needs is to just be shown a couple of exercises and told some common sense stuff since that's all I trust myself to give advice on at the moment.
To get this started, though, I need some expressions of interest as well a public liability insurance, my licence and a more appropriate car than one of my dad's dodgy Camira.
If I can find a part or full time position in a pet shop I'mma leap at the chance, a kennel/doggy day care would be even better, but at a pinch I'm convincing myself that a check out chick at Coles, Woolies, IGA, wherever, wouldn't be that bad if it means I can eventually do what I really want to do.
In the meantime, though, there's lots of planning and research to do.
No comments:
Post a Comment