Just a quick written summary- no videos.
JDO was a really nice run- stay at the startline!- but the distance was a bit tricky and after the tunnel he shot into me and took an off course broad jump. I got him sent back out to the right jump, though, and the rest of the exclusion went really well. We had a bit of a bobble in the weaves, but apart from that it felt like a pretty solid run.
Our SPDX run with Julie and Tarki was waaaaaaay over time. Charlie was naughty and didn't stay at the start (which, now I think about it, was my fault because I broke the code and moved laterally before heading out and that's a big no-no with Charlie at comps) and didn't even try to stick his contact on the dog walk (which makes me reeeeeally worried for our comp in a fortnight) and he then did the third jump about sixty times by himself. Then Tarki jumped it the wrong way, then Charlie jumped it the wrong way, then Tarki- six tries later we finally got a dog over it right. They'd played before our run and I think were still a bit wired and in that "CRAZY SPAZ RED DOG" frame of mind- but in saying that, I'm happy Charlie was actually really wanting to play with Tark so I'm happy to sacrifice the control for that. Charlie also had a seesaw fly off (can't wait until next year when that stupid thing is lowered), but Tarki missed the up contact so we had to give it another shot and while he didn't stick his 2o2o, he did ride it to the ground. We finished with the Charlie running off after Tarki over the last few jumps and then they had a lope out of the ring together to finish their playing. It was hilarious fun, though.
And our JDX run was beautiful, on a very do-able course, but there was a bit of a funny angle to one of the jumps, Charlie came off the previous jump a bit wide and like quite a few dogs was heading to go around and miss this funny jump. I pulled him back and he didn't back jump and came right back around, but I pushed him to go on too fast and the weird angle he jumped at made him knock a bar. Totally my fault and the rest of the run was awesomesauce. And I got a stay at the startline.
Charlie was being a very social butterfly and made a special border collie friend he really wanted to have a chase and wrestle game with, and when we were leaving the BC walked past and Charlie actually whined and pressed himself up to the window. D'aaaaw. He's becoming so, so much better around "strange dogs" and he's becoming a lot more eager to interact with them and actually play. It's a bit silly: I've got one dog that I really want to play with dogs and another dog that I really want to stop being so focused on playing with dogs. I need to siphon a bit out of Zeke and put it in Charlie. Then we'd all be good.
He also did his funny little yoddle yip that sounds like someone stood on his tail again while we were waiting for our run in both JDX and JDO. It's so cute :D Without fail, no dogs get him worked up while watching them run as Ranger and Tarki- but especially Ranger.
We had an awesome evening and can't wait for Gold Coast next Sunday.
But for today, I'm off to get ready to head down to the Pet Expo. Tonnes of pics will be floating about tomorrow.
No comments:
Post a Comment