Since I have a moose for a dog, who does rock solid waits every time other than when I actually need them most.
I think I've gotten... two, three maybe, waits at trials. At training he's awesome with them, I can lead out to forever, but what's the point of training that way when there's no chance in fresh hell that I'm going to get even a second's pause at a trial before he's off and making his own course because I'm left behind?
There isn't one. Exactly.
So I figured, since I can't redo waits at trials, and once he's over the line we have to just go, that I'd start training that way. I tried some push outs and slingshotting at training last week and nearly died I was having to run so fast and think on my feet. No chance to casually place myself and just flick a hand here and there when you're running side by side with your dog.
I actually think it'll be good, though; it'll help with Charlie's focus and my handling and our combined control. It might be a bit of chaos for a while, until I work out his limits and where's the best place to position him so he goes over the first jump while still giving me a head start, but eventually we'll hopefully start being able to get a few more qualies under our belts because he won't be leaving me in the dust and reinventing the course, getting us DQ'ed before we even really begin.
So we're working on running contacts, no lead outs, no waits... No rest for us on course any more :)
No comments:
Post a Comment