Super fun evening :D
I went down with my instructor and since we were a tad early we took the scenic route and stopped in near the Spit to let the dogs have a run at the beach first. I'd been hoping it would settle Charlie a bit, but he was manic.
Our novice snooker run was first up, fifth dog in, and for the first time at a trial he was wired even before he went into the ring. I'm used to getting dragged in, and having him just about begging to get going, but he was dancing, and whinging, and pulling even while we were just standing off to the side and waiting for our run to come up. But, even with that, our snooker run wasn't too shabby; a fair few faults (contact miss and a run past the weaves refusal in the closing sequence) but considering I didn't know what I was doing and he was mental and the obstacles were a bit awkward to navigate around it wasn't that bad at all.
Novice gamblers was just... epic. Even though I did the little course I'd mapped out and then had about five seconds where I kind of went "Eeeer, now what?" since we still had tonnes of time before the gamble and I hadn't planned past that stage, we got third place out of all height classes for novice with a score of forty eight: twenty points are from the successful gamble, and he needed twenty on the course to qualify so he had eight points extra put away. Considering how crappy his weave entry was in snooker, he nailed both that I put in our gamblers run and that alone would have made my night. The Q is a lovely bonus, though. Stuffed his dogwalk contact, but I hadn't even counted the potential points from that while I was walking I was that certain he'd do exactly what he did, so no surprises there.
So super proud of my spaz monkey, and cautiously optimistic for that GD title after our next novice gambers run at Durack on March 12th. I also actually enjoyed the running starts tonight; it's suprisingly a lot less stressful on us both than me begging him to wait wait wait and then realising he's already off and gone and taken extra jumps. So I think the running is staying :)
No comments:
Post a Comment