Wednesday, December 14, 2011

La Di Da...

So.

I've been really bad with updating this.

There's a few extra videos I've uploaded to YouTube that I haven't even bothered to embed in here. That's how slack I've been. Can't even be arsed to simply embed a video or two.

I'm considering making a move from Blogger to Wordpress, simply because I'm feeling so uninspired with this blog and it seemed to get caught up a bit in my other, unrelated, fairly depressing crap. I've got a blog started there (well... if "started" means a URL) and am going to have a fiddle with the design and layout and see if I can navigate the site as a whole before deciding definitely.

But to make a conscious effort to put something semi worthwhile in this blog for the time being, a few updates.

I've been super organised and entered the ADAA Dusk 'Til Dawn trial for the 31st Dec/1st Jan. I'll prattle on more about that a bit later in another post at another time. Can't really think too coherently for a really long post at 12:30AM. I've also got entries ready for posting for my first five trials for next year: one day out of the last weekend in January and then every weekend in February, I do believe. After Charlie's superb performance at the Purple Fundraiser a couple of weeks ago, I'm feeling so pumped for trialling in 2012 and I've got a really good feeling about us maybe- hopefully- making some actual, marked progress.

Zeke turned seven months yesterday- or rather make that two days ago since it's now Wednesday.

I need to go and sleep. My sleep schedule is so unbelievably fucked up. I'm slowly becoming nocturnal.

Anyway. So he turned seven months and I'm starting to finally get over the month or so of... issues... I had towards him. Given that it's fading now, I think it had something to do with his age and what age he was coming up to being- and anyone who's known me for at least, say, the past year will understand what that's all about. I just didn't feel motivated to do anything with him, didn't want to spend time with him- when I did do something it was a spur of the moment burst of enthusiasm and as soon as it waned I'd just not want to be around him at all.

It doesn't seem to have hurt him, though, the few weeks of "neglect". He had his most successful puppy gym class last night and I didn't have to put him in the crate in between activities since he was actually staying switched on and not losing the plot; I think he's finally getting to the stage where he can cope with working for such a long period of time. If he's not working- so doing some shaping or focus or being in his crate- he goes looking for work and that usually means trying to play with every dog around him, going psycho with pent up frustration and energy and becoming this zooming demon on the end of the leash.

Not pretty.

But he did really well. Obviously still was his usual hyperactive, overly friendly self, but he offered me focus after every "OMG I WANNA GRAB YOU WITH MY FEEEEETS" moment and was enthusiastic about doing every task.

Fingers crossed for a similar performance from him tonight at our second last Rally One class. I think I want to keep him back in for the start of next year and redo it, just so he's a bit older- he'll probably be about ten/eleven months by the time we graduate second time around- and we have more time to get the stuff we've learned perfected because I know, having been there with Charlie, rushing through it when it's all "pretty much there" gets us having to go right back to the beginning again and fix really stupid mistakes and bad habits.

I had some other stuff I wanted to prattle on about, but I can't think at the moment. Blurgh.

I should go and sleep.

No comments:

Post a Comment