Sunday, January 30, 2011

RDOC Trial 29/1/11



Our excellent jumpers run at the RDOC trial we went to last night.

Charlie kind of lost the plot and our excellent jumpers run started off absolutely shocking. He nearly pulled me over trying to run off and start the course- for a twenty two kilo, slightly built dog he is freakin’ muscley and strong- didn’t wait, and then tunnel sucked us into a DQ after only the first jump >.> But after that it wasn’t too bad. Considering.

Our novice agility run was slightly better. He nicked off and did the first jump before we started, but it actually seemed to settle him a bit and he waited slightly longer after that. Had a table meltdown, didn’t hit his dog walk contacts, but I think he got the a frame and he went through a cloth tunnel for the first time ever with no issues- though he was a bit disorientated coming out and kind of looked dazed XD

Saturday, January 29, 2011

He Graduated!

Exciting stuff indeed.

Fletcher finished his four week puppy preschool course this morning- and got a puppy food roll thing and an equally tasty certificate.


Charlie also started back in rally this morning as a bit of a "before classes" session and did pretty well. Snazzy heelwork, which I'm just loving, and he seemed happy to be back at training after four or so months.

Friday, January 28, 2011



From this afternoon.

It was stinking hot, but the dogs still did pretty well. Charlie was a touch flat, Jack was his usual difficult self, and Fletcher was kind of freaked about the cars going over the bridge above us, but not too shabby at all.

And with my new jumps, and new tunnel, too. Bonus.

Wednesday, January 26, 2011

This Year's Gonna Be Busy

I got a bit of a program sort of thing from training about the different classes we've got running this year, and around about the times and dates for the first few months. So, from my recent planning, I'm going to be spending the majority of my nights at either training or agility.

Fletcher is graduating from puppy preschool on Saturday. Naaaw. He was a little shit up until last night- our last Tuesday class- when he was so focused on me he didn't even want to go and play until I gave him a bit of a push towards a puppy. Not as much barking- only out of frustration when he was going focusfocusfocus and I didn't give him a treat "quick enough", but I'm so proud of the progress he's made. Still not fussed about toys there, but in all honesty food motivation is easier to work with so I'm not panicking over that. Next Tuesday we're starting puppy tricks, which will run for four weeks, and next Wednesday we're also starting the six week Obedience One course. After that- permitting he passes- we'll go through the different rally classes and start puppy gym in a few months time. He's also going to start some foundation work at agility on Monday nights starting from next week, which will be exciting.

Charlie is back at agility on Mondays- we're both super pleased about that outlet- and he starts back in Rally Three (for what must be the third time, eh) next Wednesday night. We're going to a "fun rally" sort of get back into training class this Saturday morning, for an hour before puppy preschool, and I'm hoping the nearly five months break he's had from all forms of obedience will have done him good, and not just put us back at square one again. He'll also go to rally classes on a Saturday morning up until March, when our demo combo class starts up- bit of obedience, bit of tricks, bit of agility all in one for those in the demonstration team- and we'll then do that on Saturdays, rally on Wednesday nights. From March as well we'll also be starting back in the commando classes on a Sunday morning, which are just so much fun I can't wait.

So we'll be busy little bees this year, also adding the hopeful herding later on this year, and the fact I want to trial in CCCQ and ADAA as much as I can. Charlie's got a novice agility and an excellent jumpers run on Saturday afternoon at a trial, and next Friday night I'm considering entering in a kind of fun rally obedience trial at a comp we didn't get out entries for agility into. It's still up in the air, that one. I thought I might see how he does back at training and then decide. We've got a novice gamblers and novice snooker run coming up on February eighteenth, too, so I have that long to get my head around snooker rules which just baffle me to no end.

And hopefully today, since Dad's off work for Australia Day, we'll be able to put the spikes in my jump uprights and I'll have half a dozen to practice on at home. Then I just have to convince him about the other equipment- and a flat area of land- and I'll be set.

Tuesday, January 25, 2011

QAJDC Trial 22/1/11

Especially factoring in that Charlie’s excellent jumping run was literally the first time he’s even seen jumps and tunnels- let alone pieced them together in a course- for nearly two months, he did amazing and I’m so freakin’ proud of him. No qualli, no wait at the beginning, but we got second for the 600 class, a plastic hedgehog squeaky thing that looks like it’s wearing makeup, and only one fault: my fault as well, since the third jump was on a nearly right angle from the second and I didn’t turn my shoulders quick enough so he kinda zooomed past it which counts as a refusal. Totally kicking myself for that; I was paranoid about the tunnel being right there and in his line of sight and kept my eyes on him too long to turn well. But the fact that I managed to get him back around and over it without him doing a wrong course and DQ’ing is a first. Normally he back jumps >.> We had a moment at the first jump before starting where he was all “OMG TUNNEL OVER THERE PLEEEEEEASE, MUM, PLEASE” and I nearly had to sit on him just to get him under control and semi focused, but he didn’t do a tunnel suck on me and the rest of the course after the slight hiccup at jump three was lovely.


So I was stoked.


Novice agility sucked out loud. Oh my gosh, it was just… crap. No other word for it. Hence why I love jumpers, don’t have much to say about agility.


Before we even could start he refused to sit still and took himself off about twelve times, then did crazy continual jumping back and forth over the first jump until he finally realised I was saying “sit, wait” and he did so. Kind of. I got a lead out to just past the first jump- which is an improvement- though I was kind of glaring at him and walking backwards to get that far ^ . ^ No contacts on the dog walk so a fault; nothing new there. But he didn’t jump off the table! Happy with that, though he was seriously twitchy through the whole count. There was a tunnel right after the weaves so he was sort of off his face with anticipation and entered in wrong side. Another fault. Weaved fine after I popped him back in the right side, got to the tunnel- yaaaaaaaay- and he was so speedy and overexcited coming out he hit the a frame hard and fast, literally leapt from halfway up the first side, didn’t touch the top at all and landed so hard at the very bottom of the second contact point he almost snapped himself in two. I nearly stopped running I was so shocked and freaked out. I just yelped, “Oh my God!” because, you know, my dog had come super close to what looked like breaking his bloody back and nearly ripped his face off trying to get his feet back under him- but a super fast running contact, which was a silver lining, not the cleanest, but fast- but he couldn’t give a toss. It’s agility, after all, and he doesn’t care so long as he can run. So he was still off doing the next jump- knocked the bar, another fault- before I could recover and luckily he’s happy to just go and go a line with distance so I didn’t get left behind for the home stretch. I think we ended up DQ’ing, actually, because of a missed jump after the a frame incident, but I really don’t know. I literally finished and walked off with my eyes all popping out of my head, and then gave Charlie a quick once over. He was tail wagging and butt wiggling and giving my kisses in my ears so I don’t think it traumatised or injured him too much :P


My instructor’s rottie cross got his groove back on for his last two runs. He’s been so mopey and lifeless since the start of December when she had to put her oldest rottie to sleep, so it was absolutely wonderful to see him actually running a course again and enjoying himself. Two friends of mine from training and trialling’s little chihuahua cross got her first open jumping qualli, which was just absolutely awesome.


Other news that came out of this afternoon’s trial is less happy and made me a bit weepy :( The same friends with the chi cross lost their beautiful kelpie on Tuesday. He had a really bad storm phobia (like to the point of trying so badly to escape and run off he ripped all the nails out of his feet a couple of months ago), they were working through it, but Tuesday evening they came home- there hadn’t been a storm predicted, didn’t even seem like there had been one but apparently it had been a dry storm with some thunder- and found him dead in his pen. The vet said he probably had a seizure he was so freaked out, which is the only consultation: at least it was quick. He wasn’t even two yet, only started trialling a few months ago and was just the sweetest dog. And my instructor’s rottie who got his groove back also has just been diagnosed with mild hip dysplasia, which is kind of the icing on a crappy cake- so on top of losing her five and a half year old dog to bone cancer barely six weeks ago, she now has to contend with that.


But it was an awesome afternoon, even with the bad news mixed in. It’s good to be able to go out and have fun and run courses in memory of some absolutely wonderful dogs that have been taken away way before their time should have been up. We’ve got another agility and jumpers trial this Saturday afternoon as well, and then later on near the end of February we’ve got our first solely games trial- second novice gamblers run, first novice snooker run. Should be a blast and a half :)

Monday, January 24, 2011

Quick Update

I've been so slack with updates on this blog. Bad Emma.

Very, very, very quick post, just to embed a video: Fletcher's three to four month one.



Better update tomorrow, when I don't have birds to feed before bed and eyes that are just about dropping out of my skull because I'm so damn tired.