I was given permission to get a puppy and two months later we visited the AWL and adopted Charlie. It was all very instant, with little time to really prep in the same way I'm prepping for my sheltie since I had no idea what sort of dogs were going to be available the day we went, what dog I was going to adopt, what gender I was going to end up with- I was hoping for a bitch, ended up with a dog, though- and there was a whole less of the anxious anticipation I'm getting now; there was also less time for me to ponder over names.
Charlie was called Crunchie- the litter he was in were all named after chocolates: Picnic, Snickers, etc, etc- and he was renamed on the way home in the car. It was either that or Harry, since he had that sort of look about him.
My puppy still hasn't been born yet, though it should be within the next day or two at the latest, and even though I'm still not one hundred per cent sure that I am getting a bitch, I'm left with a whole lot more time to kill and knowledge about what my future dog is going to be which means I'm going through dozens and dozens of possible names.
I'm big on finding a name that fits the dog, not me just flinging a name I love at it, so I've got a short list drawn up that I'll hopefully be able to pick a perfect name off:
Female
Lyric;
Myah;
Mia;
Flo; and
Willow
Male (just in case)
Fletcher;
Jif; and
Zeke
So now I've just got wait oh so patiently until the pups are born and keep my fingers crossed that one of those names fits my new fur baby. And if none of them do, it'll be back to the drawing board and I'll try not to think about how much time I've wasted pondering over these :P
No comments:
Post a Comment