Thursday, March 24, 2011
Vet Woes
His nose is more or less completely blocked, he can't breath really well and when he does it kind of... wheezes? Not the word, but it's hard to describe.
I've been Googling- as you do- and from what I can gather it seems like an upper respiratory infection or an allergy to something.
So the poor thing can't see very well, has no sense of smell and pretty much only hearing to get about effectively. This dog...
Just when I think I've got it all sorted out and we're back on track, making progress, something else goes wrong.
In other more positive news, Charlie's doing very well at his 2o2o. I'm impressed.
Wednesday, March 23, 2011
Two Posts In One Day
I've found a training book site that not only is actually in Australia but has oodles of awesome books and ones I want to buy available on it. For just the seven main books I want- and need- to get, it'll be $205 not including postage, but I'm gonna say screw the cost and get them once I check out my bank account and make sure it isn't dehydrated.
I've got up Dogs- which I've been trying to find a copy of for forever- Shaping Success, The Culture Clash, The Other End Of The Leash, In Focus, Control Unleashed and The Focused Puppy.
So that's the first awesome thing.
The second is that I have a tentative idea of what I want to do once I leave school.
I've been very, very hesitant about even considering going down the path of dog training and behaviour modification because it freaks me out a bit, being responsible for the training and welfare of a dog other than my own. But the truth is that whenever I think "What the hell am I going to do with the rest of my life?" the only thing that really comes up with some degree of enthusiasm is working with dogs.
Obviously it isn't a sole job plan, especially first off, but I've been in the retail pet industry for two years and wouldn't have an issue with continuing that, or some variation of that in addition. I just find it all so fascinating, and I love learning new methods and techniques, either just for the general knowledge or to help my own dogs.
I wish I had a few more options now to work with other people's dogs, but I'll be getting a small chance at that regularly starting in a few months when I turn eighteen and can volunteer at the AWL. I'd love to also do small scale dog sitting and fostering; basically anything I can do to just start getting more exposure to different dogs.
I have no idea whether or not it's going to pan out, or how it'll all click together, but I'm feeling pretty darn positive about it all.
I Think Running's Out
He wouldn't touch the grass, so I had to resort to a shorter board and the verandah, which didn't have enough room for proper running. So I switched back to working on his 2o2o, and waddayaknow, he actually had enthusiasm about it.
I think if I can get a really, really strong verbal on his touch, this could actually work.
While I was waiting for demo class to start last night I took Charlie off into an unused corner and started redoing his waits. I was watching someone in the earlier "class" run at training on Monday and I found it super interesting that Lucy would break her waits up until her owner treated leaving her for a leadout as she would a stay in obedience- leave with the right leg. Lucy didn't move a muscle. Now I can't actually get away at all from Charlie at trials, but I think if I combine sitting him at my left, leaving with my right leg, and using my new word and hand signal, I'm hoping I can try and trick him into thinking it's a new behaviour he's learning and get a more solid result. Crafty Emma.
I'm using a close fist and "steady" instead of wait now; he's already got a pretty good unsteady of steady in relation to slowly and... steadying, I suppose, himself, but it's not an actual command so I figured if I can kind of use that to my advantage and work that into him waiting it should, hopefully, make it a bit more effective.
I'm going to get a copy of Control Unleashed and see what I can soak up from that, too.
Tuesday, March 22, 2011
The Moose Is Very Frustrating
The little suck knows what touch means. He doesn't just stop, but ninety per cent of the time he was going into a drop as well as the touch.
So while I was elated he was getting it and had retained the bit of training we did on them ages and ages ago, I'm also incredibly frustrated that he just doesn't get it into his head at trials. I know it's probably his immaturity and over excitement and he's just not listening- prime example with our open jumping run last Saturday where he totally forgot I was even in the ring with him- but I know he can do them and if he could just focus enough to do them in the ring we'd be out of novice agility by now and having far less chaotic runs.
I'm really wanting to do a pile of ADAA trials as priority for the next six months to a year and just ease back with CCCQ a bit, focusing primarily on jumpers. If I just do not for comps, I can use it all as training practice, work on his waits- because I really, really, really need them back at trials- and his contacts in the ring.
And hopefully we'll start to see a bit more focus and improvement.
I'm also in two minds about running or 2o2o now. I desperately want him to keep going with a solid 2o2o for the seesaw- no more using it as a launch pad, please and thank you- and so far we've been attempting running with the a frame and dog walk, but I'm wondering now whether it would be better for him mentally to get him to slow and think about stopping at the end of both.
But in saying that I don't know whether I'd get that level of focus in the ring, and then we'd just end up blowing away all that training because it'd be like the waits- he does it at training, but come to the ring and all manners go out the window and we'd be right back at square one with yet another thing to fix. I also don't know if I'd remember to tell him to touch and release at a trial, so that wouldn't help at all.
I need to go back and retrain his table, too, and go for an automatic drop. Even though CCCQ doesn't require it, ADAA does. Fletcher's pretty much nailed his so far, and I think Charlie would definitely benefit from learning that as well.
Gah. I need proper equipment to practice on during the week in between training. I don't even have my running board any more since Dad stole it to block off the other end of the vegie box. I also need to get into my dog's head more and figure out what he needs to get him back to feeling comfortable and calm in the ring.
And I need to work on myself and my nerves and handling.
So much to do, so much to think about. I'm going to definitely be trying out screeching "TOUCH!" at the strategic pairs trial, and see what happens.
It could just be me, after all. It probably is mostly me, at the very least.
But if he does hit just one 2o2o contact at that trial, it'll give me something to go off and a better idea of where we are, what the problem is and where we need to go from there. I'm sure he's got at least the very basic idea of it all, he's just not thinking when he's as wound up as gets at trials.
So we need more training, more practice, and a way to settle Charlie.
Heck, it seems like such a mammoth task.
We're Going!
Here we come!
So pumped; this is going to be hilarious fun.
:D
Sunday, March 20, 2011
Yay! Maybe, Anyway
And we didn't have a pairs partner and I'm not doing any more agility runs until I work out the moose's issues.
But my instructor just sent me a message about having a possible partner for the trial for pairs.
She's a great dane XD
Charlie's, like, the smallest dog who runs in 600 because he's right smack bang on the minimum height.
Mia's the biggest dog who currently trials around here at a whopping 750 mm; just, you know, a twenty and a bit centimetre difference between the two of them. She's the cutest dog, too, and likes doing zoomies which is actually kind of scary when the dog zooming is the size that she is.
So if this ends up working out and we can get the entries in- even though it technically closed on Friday- Charlie will get his second and third SPD runs out of the way and even have a- rather long- shot at his SPD title.
Saturday, March 19, 2011
Well That Was A Wash
Holy cow, extreme agility trial XD
It didn't stop raining and lots of dogs and handlers running courses meant the ground was so quickly churned up and muddy and covered in water we were kind of doing aqua agility. The ground was awful, slippery and boggy and we all got covered in mud and water; I nearly lost my shoes and my footing numerous times.
Of course the fact that my dog no longer has a brain meant it was ten times worse.
Charlie's just lost the plot. I don't know what's been going through his head but since we started back training and trialing in January this year he's been _manic_ to the point where he's just not listening or taking any direction from me.
I think he DQ'ed in pretty much every run because he was just mental and not listening. I did manage to slingshot start him in our last two runs which was nice and because he wasn't directly facing any obstacle and was just off to the side it seemed to calm him down- slightly. As calm as Charlie can be before a run anyway.
Our open jumping was the worst run, though. He DQ'ed us just one jump in- saw the tunnel three jumps up and shot off course to try and get to it, and from there it went downhill. It was our last run and the ground was crap; the course had to be redesigned so we could avoid the middle of the ring which was just a muddy bog. To get into the ring we literally had to wade through a creek >.<>
So I've made a decision. No more agility runs- open or novice, I don't care- until I go back and retrain his contacts and he's solid on them. Though considering he seems to still not be mature enough to cope with retaining much training in a trial environment I don't know how effective this plan will be.
But I'm not going to the agility only trial in April anymore and will only stick to games- since we can usually opt out of contacts for those- and excellent and open jumpers until I get him sorted. And if he keeps pulling the crappy stunts he has been lately I'll pull him from all CCCQ trials and just do not for comp with ADAA until he gets some common sense back.
We're still having fun, regardless, but it's annoying me that he's getting away with all of this crazy crap he keeps throwing at me at trials and I can't stop him and fix it, and it's just escalating every single time. He's just full on to the point of uncontrolled mania at trials, manageable at training, so I really do need some way to be able to mesh the two together more- which is why I'm so glad I joined up with ADAA.
Weather permitting, plank work is starting tomorrow.
Friday, March 18, 2011
Trial Tomorrow!
I'm about to go to sleep so I can get up nice and early and get my usual weekend chores and stuff out the way before I get dropped up in Brisbane around lunchtime, but since I've been slack with updating this blog frequently I'mma do a quick little post.
We have four runs tomorrow: JDX, JDO, AD, ADO.
And we- or rather I, since Charlie's only goal is to run like a loon- have four goals: running as fast as I possibly can (yay for my legs not being buggered any more), having trust in my dog to do distance work so long as I guide and call it properly, settle Charlie before contact obstacles so he hopefully won't miss either them entirely or the contact part even if it means sacrificing plenty of seconds.
And of course fun, which doesn't even really need to be said since that's the reason why we do this.
And who couldn't have fun, running a spastic kelpie?
I'm also going to hand in my entries for Gold Coast on April 2nd. I'm trialing so much this year it's crazy! But awesome, even though I'm literally spending most of my wages each month on entry fees.
Thursday, March 17, 2011
Already? :O
I think making these videos is just encouraging time to fly, but I'm loving documenting his life like this :)
I was re-watching his two to three month one the other day and nearly melted into a puddle of goo from the cute puppy-ness XD His nose was so short!
We've had a rather interesting month this month: stress and fretting and paranoia and relief and answers. I found he was blind in one eye, lost my exuberant little motivated puppy for a few weeks, found out the reason why I lost him was because of his jaw, got his jaw fixed up and got the piggy pup back, graduated from Obedience One, continued in beginner tricks. And can't forget Wednesday, the momentous day when he finally got the snip :P
So yes. Busy month, and I'm excited for what the next one is going to bring.
Monday, March 14, 2011
Rawh
To be honest, I'm an idiot. I shouldn't even be trialing him in anything other than jumpers and gamblers until I get his contacts sorted, but it's been something I kind of think, "Oh, we'll just practice in between trials and it'll get better".
Not a good attitude.
Anyway, so the "rawh" is because it's not just the contact touching part that I'm having to worry about now: at the trial on Saturday and at training tonight Charlie was just running past the a frame and dog walk, like it wasn't even an obstacle. He'd either take the tunnel under it, or go out and opt for a jump, or just run a straight line past it. And it's frustrating the crap out of me, because he literally started that at the trial and I have no idea why. He's done a couple of "too excited to slow down, woops the entry's behind me now" moments at trials in the past, but he is actually going out of his way to avoid them; he'll just totally ignore my shoulders and directional cues and verbal cues and blind cross me.
I don't know if it's his adjustment that's making taking the obstacles unpleasant for him, or if he's just decided that he's not had enough foundation and heavy reward on them so wants to do something else, but it's bloody annoying and I'm now looking at the reality that I have to stop being lazy and actually go back and retrain the a frame and dog walk- and seesaw, actually- from scratch again. And I probably ought to not enter anything agility at trials and just stick to jumpers until I get it sorted; or at least just use not for comp ADAA runs for practice in a trial environment.
I don't have any equipment at home- or much flat space to set up something shoddy- but I really can't ignore it anymore. We'll never get out of novice agility until we nail contact obstacles.
Rawh.
Saturday, March 12, 2011
Friday, March 11, 2011
Something Super Interesting
Fletcher and Charlie went to the chiropractor for the first time today and oh my gosh, it’s just… mind blowing… how many things are connected in a dog and how the apparent cause of one thing isn’t actually the cause at all.
Explanation.
Charlie “paddles” when he walks. I thought it was just him; he paces as well, but that’s a kelpie thing anyway. But no, not only was he out in his hips- which is why I originally called up and made an appointment three weeks ago, because my instructor said he looked stiff- but his elbows, back and neck. I broke my dog! :O And he’s obviously been out for a while, poor baby, because he’s actually got less muscle tone on his back left leg than his right- because of trying to avoid using that diagonal- and has a muscle lump thing on his front left leg from overworking it. He had all this tension in his muscles and neck and it’s just gone now. He had his deliriously contented face on all the way home: his eyes go really small, his ears kind of stick out the side and he looks like he’s smiling ♥ Unfortunately it’ll take a couple of days to really notice a difference and he has six runs at a trial tomorrow so I’m expecting him to pull up completely lame in that right front leg on Sunday, but I’m going to coat him in Difflam and hot water bottle him Sunday and hopefully that’ll ease it a bit and get him all set for our trial next Saturday as well. I’ll probably end up giving him Monday off training as well, just to be super safe. I’m also thinking the pain and muscle issues has been the reason why he’s been a bit less than enthusiastic for agility training lately. It’ll be interesting to see, anyway.
But Fletcher is a bit more of the interesting. He was slightly out in his shoulders and hips, but was way more intriguing is his whole jaw was out- on the side that his bad eye’s on. Apparently his jaw being out explains not only his “overbite” and uneven jaw- that was perfect when he was younger- but also his sneezing/coughing/wheezing and the clogged nose which I had him on antibiotics for- and they did absolutely nothing. It buggered up all of his sinuses. I don’t know if I’m imagining things or not, but his eyes even seems a bit bigger and clearer since he was tweaked. It also explains why he was all of a sudden not interested in anything food related except for tiny pieces of cheese and steak he didn’t have to chew. He hasn’t wanted to touch his dry food for the past few weeks.
They’re going back in about six weeks for a recheck and retweak if they need it, and I’m so stoked. Charlie, especially, could have ended up with either busted knees or a torn ligament had I not got him readjusted, and Fletcher’s teeth would have been totally fricked up because his jaw was growing all out of whack.
So, the interesting thing about this is: don’t just look to a vet for solutions to perhaps “common” problems. Who’d have thought Fletch having his jaw and neck out would equal what everyone- even the vet- thought was a cold! :O Amazing what parts are all interconnected.
Tuesday, March 8, 2011
CHEESE!
My discovery of tiny pieces of cheese also seems to be a factor.
He actually follows a lure of cheese. Chunkers he goes "Pfft, screw dat" at, but cheese I can actually lure and he'll happily work for.
He lost interest in food for the last bit of our tricks class tonight, but considering that he went nuts for the toy instead and that was the first time I'd gotten more than a couple of minutes work out of him, I'm stoked.
Obedience graduation tomorrow night for Fletcher, agility and tricks next week, then he'll have a couple of weeks off to recoup from his surgery before we get back into training and start Rally One.
Friday, March 4, 2011
Updates
Fletcher finally saw an eye specialist today and I was given the bad news that he's got no vision in his right eye. The eye's small and while being fully formed something is funky with the wiring between the right and left eyes and the right eye and his brain. Either his optic nerve or the retina isn't quite right, so he can't see. And he won't ever be able to. So there's nothing I can do, nothing anyone can do to fix it, but at least I have a definite diagnosis now which makes me feel so relieved. After three and a half months of maybes and possibilities I have something concrete. He copes fine- having it since he was born has definitely helped him, since he hasn't known any other way of living and getting around. He's still going to be doing everything I had planned for him and I think he'll be fine.
They're both booked in to the chiropractor for next Friday afternoon to get their hips tweaked- Charlie's been a bit off his usual self lately, and Fletcher keeps sitting crooked- and then next Saturday we have a trial. Fletch is graduating from OB1 next Wednesday, and then the Wednesday afternoon he's getting snipped! Then the Saturday after that we have another CCCQ trial.
Commando and the demo class are starting very soon- I think Commando is starting on Sunday morning, if I remember correctly; demo in the middle of March, but I think I'm missing the first week because of the trial on the 19th. And Fletcher will be starting Rally One in a few weeks.
Very busy month coming up for us three.